

# WATCH EVERY RACE LIVE THIS SATURDAY ON



**BRITISH AND IRISH RACING** 

What is the Shergar Cup?

A jockeys' challenge event, where four teams of three riders - namely Great Britain & Ireland, Europe, Rest Of The World and The Girls - battle it out across six races over a variety of trips, in front of a big crowd at Ascot racecourse.

# A guide to this year's jockeys

# **GREAT BRITAIN & IRELAND**



### Jamie Spencer (captain) Burst on to the scene when still a teenager in Ireland, winning the 1998 Irish 1,000 Guineas on Tarascon. 1999

Irish champion apprentice, 2004 Irish champion jockey, 2005 & 2007 British champion jockey. He has partnered more than 2,175 winners in total. Shergar Cup record – Appearances: 4 (2004, 2006,

2008, 2015); Wins 3.

## Neil Callan

Champion apprentice in Britain in 1999. Between 2004 and 2010, Callan rode over 100 winners here each year. Having first ridden in Hong Kong in 2010, he was granted a permanent licence there in 2014 and has become one of the most successful jockeys there since, finishing third in the latest jockeys' championship. **Shergar Cup record – Appearances: 1 (2009); Wins 1.** 

# Fran Berry

Was based in Ireland when winning the Silver Saddle here in 2010, where he enjoyed considerable success, riding particularly for John Oxx and then for Jessica Harrington and others once turning freelance. Moved to Britain in 2016 to join Ralph Beckett but recently turned freelance again and enjoying success with a number of trainers. **Shergar Cup record – Appearances: 2 (2010, 2011); Wins: 2.** 



# Who will win the Silver Saddle?

The jockey amassing the most individual points will take home an additional £3,000 plus the Allistair Haggis Silver Saddle trophy. Some big names have claimed the prize in past years.

Previous winners: 2001 – David Flores 2002 – Richard Hughes 2003 – Kieren Fallon

- 2004 Weichong Marwing 2006 Ryan Moore 2007 Hugh Bowman
- 2008 Gerald Mosse 2009 Richard Hughes 2010 Fran Berry
- 2011 Paul Hanagan 2012 Matthew Chadwick 2013 Gerald Mosse
- 2014 Olivier Peslier 2015 Sammy-Jo Bell 2016 Thierry Jarnet.

💟 @gblracing 📑 British & Irish Racing 🙆 enquiries@gblracing.com (GBI) gblracing.com

# So how does it all work?

Points are awarded to the first five horses to finish in each of the six Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup races as follows - winner: 15 points; second: 10 points; third: 7 points; fourth: 5 points; fifth: 3 points. The team with the most points after the six races have been run will receive the Shergar Cup.

The six races are worth a total of £270,000 in prize money, paid down to 10th (last) place. With no entry fees to pay and £500 in number cloth sponsorship per contest for ITV-televised races, these are the only races run during the year in Britain when every owner represented by a runner should be guaranteed to, at the very least, cover their costs.



#### **EUROPE**

#### Adrie De Vries (captain)

Duty Free

Having ridden his first winner in 1985, de Vries has become by far the best-known name in Dutch horseracing, winning the jockeys' championship 12 times and taking the Dutch Derby five times between 1991 and 1999. He moved to Germany afterwards, where he has also been champion.



Shergar Cup record – Appearances: 2 (2014 & 2015) Wins: 0.

#### **Umberto Rispoli**

In November, 2009, Rispoli broke Gianfranco Dettori's 27-year-old Italian record of 229 winners in a season, pushing the new mark to 245 at the end of the campaign. He was also Italy's champion jockey in 2010 and claimed a first Group One success. He now divides his time between France in the summer and Hong Kong during the winter. Shergar Cup record – Appearances: 1 (2010); Wins: 0.

#### **Alexander Pietsch**

Joint champion jockey in Germany for the 2015 season with 86 wins, sharing the title with Andrasch Starke, the Cologne-based rider has enjoyed over 1,000 successes and partnered big-race winners in Germany, Italy and Turkey. He is making his second appearance at Ascot, having ridden at the Royal meeting here in 2016. Shergar Cup record – Debut.

#### THE GIRLS

### **Emma-Jayne Wilson (captain)**



Wilson returns for a sixth appearance in the Shergar Cup having partnered two winners in the event in 2014, her enthusiastic celebrations making her popular with the bumper crowd. Since 2005, she has finished in the top 100 of North American jockeys every year and has ridden a total of 1399 victories on the continent.

Shergar Cup record – Appearances: 5 (2006, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016); Wins: 3.

#### **Michelle Payne**

Payne created history in 2015 when becoming the first female jockey to win Australia's greatest race, the Melbourne Cup aboard 100/1 outsider Pride Of Penzance for trainer Darren Weir. Payne made her Ascot debut at this year's Royal meeting in the Queen Anne Stakes on June 20 aboard Kaspersky, finishing fifth at 66/1. Shergar Cup record – Debut.

### Hayley Turner

Turner became the first woman to be crowned Britain's champion apprentice in 2005, and in 2008 the first to partner 100 winners in a calendar year in Britain. Turner's first Group One victory came in July 2011 aboard Dream Ahead in the Darley July Cup. She retired at the end of 2015, but returned to ride in this event last year and now mixes life as a jockey with TV. Shergar Cup record - Appearances: 10 (2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016); Wins: 5.



### **REST OF THE WORLD**

#### Kerrin McEvoy (captain)

McEvoy was already established in Australia when riding for four years in the UK from 2004 to 2007 before returning to his homeland to be number one rider for Sheikh Mohammed. In 2015, he recorded his 50th Group 1 success. Shergar Cup record – Appearances: 1 (2015); Wins: 1.

**EUROPE** 

Keita Tosaki

JRA Champion Jockey three times in Japan (2014, 2015 & 2016) and leading the way again in 2017. He finished third in both the 2015 and 2016 editions of the LONGINES International Jockeys' Championship at Happy Valley, Hong Kong, and has partnered a total approaching 3,000 winners. Shergar Cup record – Debut.

### Anthony Delpech

Won South African jockeys' title for the first time in 1998/99, partnering a record 334 winners during the season. Also champion jockey for the 2002/03 campaign. Joint most successful jockey in South Africa's top race, the Durban July, with four wins. He has ridden in Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore and Dubai but will be making his UK debut here. Shergar Cup record – Debut.